How to Pray

yogananda.jpg

According to Paramhansa Yogananda, that is:

In Whispers from Eternity, by Paramhansa Yogananda, we are taught to pray to Our Heavenly Father by demanding instead of begging, and thus not limit ourselves to the law of beggary. The author explains in the beginning why all our prayers are not answered. All the property belonging to a father can be claimed by his son, but not by a beggar. That is why the author tells us that in order to demand, we must first realize our forgotten identity with the Father by deep meditation, and that we must learn to remember by right living that God made us in His image.

I just ordered Whispers from Eternity, partly because I love Yogananda, and partly because I’ve been using various formulations of the Law of Abundance during the past several years in order to transform my chronic case of scarcity consciousness.

The fact is, there is so much abundance in the universe that every single being should be able to live like royalty. We are, after all, the sons and daughters of divinity. But most of us are so conditioned to accept our limited place in the scheme of things that we never get around to embodying our true nature.

Having read five Yogananda books so far, I have a good feeling that this sixth one will nudge me a little closer to an overall empowerment that has so far eluded me.

And even if it doesn’t, I can look forward to a good read.

4 thoughts on “How to Pray

  1. pawl says:

    Everybody is a star !

  2. adreampuppet says:

    Uh… thanks, I think…!

  3. lesleehorner says:

    Nice post! I am slowly reading Autobiography of a Yogi, I put it down and pick it up and am about halfway through it. I’ve been reading a lot of Joel S. Goldsmith over the past year. I highly recommend his work. Practicing the Presence, The Art of Spiritual Healing, and A Parenthesis in Eternity are my favorites…

  4. adreampuppet says:

    Hi Leslee — thanks for the kind words, and for the recommendations. I LOVE Joel Goldsmith. During the warm months, I typically walk to work (about a half hour stroll), reading a Goldsmith book every step of the way. I’ve read about ten of them so far… and, as you know, there are many more than that!

Leave a Reply

