Nothing to Sneeze At

magic.jpg

I get a little uncomfortable when folks deny the efficacy of the Law of Attraction, choosing to make a joke out of something that, when looked at in depth, is self-evident. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one:

I was watching the “Bill Maher Show” on HBO last night. They were making fun of the movie “The Secret”. They were saying how the message in the movie is “you can have everything you want if you just visualize it” (ahaha, funny).

[…]

Visualizing regularly what you want to achieve is only the first step! If you visualize regularly, you will start seeing more clearly various opportunities that, if taken, would align your life toward your goals. That’s because your goals are much clearer! Here is the key: once these opportunities appear in your life, you must take them! This means hard work! Determination! Little or no hesitation! Visualization helps in this regard because it makes you feel like you already achieved your goals, and it eliminates the hesitation that often gets in your way.

If, as a skeptic, you can’t accept that these opportunities are brought to you by the “universe” as a result of your visualization, just think that these opportunities would have been there anyway. Visualization just allows you to see them, and allows you to promptly respond to them with a higher degree of confidence that you wouldn’t have otherwise. That edge and that determination is what can make you much more successful, and push you further.

It is all about points of view. Don’t discount the power of visualization just because you do not believe that visualization actually changes reality. That is more of a detail. In the end it doesn’t matter!!

So take that, Bill Maher!

5 thoughts on “Nothing to Sneeze At

  1. Hawk Sr. says:

    Yeh, I’m starting to see that Bill Maher is more into superficial laughs than authentic critiques. His recent comments on Coulter were the last straw for me.

  2. Gregor says:

    I am unfamiliar with the recent content of Bill Maher’s program. I killed my HBO in order to save some money. But I did always enjoy his show.

    I read this week that the sequel to The Secret will be about the secret of “right action” Now that makes me chuckle just a little bit. Is it a secret? Well at least they are getting the eightfold path out there. . .hope they make a bunch of money.

  3. Hawk Sr. says:

    No question about it. He makes me laugh, and is usually the source of some beautifully insane sanity.

  4. adreampuppet says:

    I’ve always thought of Maher as a genius who frequently puts his foot in his mouth. Geniuses, I’ve discovered, can be some of the stupidest people on the planet.

    I’ve seen him get on a roll and have been very impressed, but I agree with Hawk that he goes for the cheap chuckles a lot of the time, and he’s too interested in proving himself “one with the consensus” to be be consistently original.

    Gregor! Nice to read your words here, my friend.

  5. Hawk Sr. says:

    You said what I was trying, ineffectively, to say, Mike!

Leave a Reply

